Living with the Unexpected

There are over 1,000,000 people living with an ostomy in the United States. I am just one.

Enjoying the great outdoors!

A few weekends ago, my good friend Melissa and I decided to go to Burlington, Vermont together.  I had never been but Melissa has and said it’s beautiful.  We left early Saturday morning and arrived within 4 hours.  What a beautiful and scenic trip! Upon arrival, we immediately went to a Bike Rental store and rented two bikes to take the bike tour.  We stopped at a Farmer’s Market and picked up some homemade jam. Yum!  The path took us all the way to the causeway on Lake Champlain.  It is absolutely beautiful.  We rode our bikes for over 20 miles that day!  My ostomy did great the entire time and I had no issues.  I only have to stop once to use the bathroom.  However, I made the mistake of not bringing snacks and extra water or Gatorade with me.  I have to eat and snack constantly throughout the day or else I end up not feeling well.  As soon as we ended after 2pm, we got something to eat.  We were both exhausted and walking a little funny 😉  I ended up feeling pretty sick and dehydrated so we headed back to the hotel and we both passed out until about 8pm.  We woke up refreshed and went to dinner at a Farm to Table restaurant that was absolutely delicious.  After dinner, we went back to the hotel and on Sunday we drove to Waterbury, Vermont and had lunch at Prohibition Pig which was also delicious.  This ended our trip and we made the 4 hour trip back home. 

Beautiful Lake Champlain

Beautiful Lake Champlain

We arrived at the causeway in the middle of Lake Champlain!

We arrived at the causeway in the middle of Lake Champlain!

20 mile bike ride in Burlington, Vermont!

20 mile bike ride in Burlington, Vermont!

Melissa and I ready for our bike ride

Melissa and I ready for our bike ride

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 27, 2014 by .